The best viennoiserie ever!

If I was pushed to say where the best breakfast in the world can be found then I think I’d go for Paris. I made a trip over there last weekend, trying to eat as many croissants and pain au chocolat as possible. To be honest I was so busy eating that I didn’t take the best pictures.

A couple of places that I went to that are definitely worth a trip are:

Boulangerie Utopie, 20 Rue Jean-Pierre Timbaud, 75011 Paris

I found this through a quick google search of bakeries near the hotel we were staying. The pain au chocolat was amazing. So crisp, flaky and buttery.

IMG_3878.jpg

IMG_3877.jpg

Du Pain et des Idées, 34 Rue Yves Toudic, 75010 Paris

There was bit of a queue outside of this bakery with mostly tourists but don’t let this put you off! They have some unusual flavours for well-known favourites, such as banana pain au chocolat. They also have a number of different escargot (snail) shaped bakes that were delicious. The rum and raisin was so good! A must try.

IMG_3888.jpg

IMG_3890 (1).jpg

Escargot rhum raisin…mmmm

Aux Merveilleux de Fred, 12 Place d’Aligre, 75012 Paris, France

This patisserie has quite a few locations around the world. They are actually also in London. I didn’t technically have viennoiserie here but I wanted to include it as I had a good photo! The speciality of this shop is the merveilleux, a cake that originates from Belgium. It is very light, made from cream and meringue with different dustings on the outside depending on the flavour. It was nice but a little too sweet for me.

IMG_3868.jpg

FullSizeRender.jpg

Last one left…praline flavour

La Pâtisserie Cyril Lignac, 24 Rue Paul Bert, 75011 Paris, France

Our friend made us a beautiful breakfast including viennoiserie from this bakery.  I had never had a cake from Brittany called Kouign-amann (pronounced queen-ah-mahn), but it is delicious and very rich. The apple turnover is apparently award winning.

IMG_0180.jpg

What a great weekend! It was made even better because I got engaged! What a special few days. I didn’t want to come back to reality. Right I do need to find a job…….

Leave a Reply

